In This Section

Health and Social Care

BTEC National Health and Social Care Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma KS5

In this course you will learn about the different forms of communication and how to communicate with people of different backgrounds, the rights of Individuals in Health and Social Care, the Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care, and Health and Social Care Services. 

Unit 1 – Developing Effective Communication – Coursework – 33%

Understand effective communication, the barriers that may exist and ways to overcome these. Students have the opportunity to gain and improve their interpersonal skills. 

Unit 2 – Equality, Diversity and Rights – Coursework – 33%

Explore concepts related to equality, diversity and rights in Health and Social Care, as well as gain knowledge of discriminatory practice and means of combatting this. Develop understanding of national initiatives that promote anti-discriminatory practice 

Unit 4 – Development through the Life Stages – Coursework – 33%

Gain knowledge and understanding of the different stages throughout the human lifespan, as well as develop an understanding of both the physical and psychological changes of ageing. 

Subsidiary Units 

Unit 3 – Health, Safety and Security – Coursework – 33%

Understand the health, safety and security of individuals in a Health and Social Care context. Explore legislation, policies and procedures and gain an understanding of the purpose of risk analysis. 

Unit 48 – Exploring Personal and Professional Development – Coursework – 33%

Understand the different ways in which learning can take place and how learning from individual experiences can be used to enhance the quality of knowledge, skills and practice. This unit includes 50 hours of work experience within a Health and Social Care setting. 

Unit 10 - Caring for Children and Young People

In this unit you will know why children and young people might need to be looked after. Know how care is provided for looked after children and young people. In this unit the School’s Guidance Counsellor comes and gives a talk to the students about rights and equality of looked after children and vulnerable adults. 

BTEC Level 2 Award in Health and Social Care

This is done both in KS5 and KS4. In this course you will learn about the different forms of communication and how to communicate with people from different backgrounds. Rights of Individuals in Health and Social Care, the Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care and Health and Social Care Services.

Why study Health and Social Care?

People living longer, you will gain the relevant knowledge and skills to assist with future employment within the Health and Social Care sector. This qualification is taught through a mixture of Core, Mandatory and Optional Specialist units. 

Core Units

Mandatory Units  

Optional Specialist Units

1 Human Lifespan Development (Externally Assessed)

2 Health and Social Care Values 

3 Effective Communication in Health and Social Care    8 Individual Rights in Health and Social Care

All units are assessed and graded via the completion of portfolio work; this may for example include practicals, reports, essays and presentations.

Child Development GCSE

What will I learn about? 

This course is a two year course done in one year; it is very extended and demands a lot of attention so you need to be serious about wanting to do this course. You will learn about children, pregnancy, parenthood, types of families, toys, plays etc. This course will equip you to study nursing, doctor, nursery nurse or any profession within the health sector or education sector. How will I be assessed? You will have to sit an external examination and do two course work assignments, one is about studying a child under 5 yrs of age and the other is a research based on a chosen topic.

Child Study equals 40% research -20% and external examination = 20% this adds up to 100%You must pass all areas to receive your GCSE. 

BTEC Level1/2 Award in Children’s Play, Learning and Development at KS4

Designed to provide focused and specialist work-related qualifications in a range of sectors. On successful completion of this course, students may progress into or within employment or continue their study in doing the Diploma. The essential skills learnt in this subject area are communication, problem solving, ICT and people skills. 

Why study this course? 

There is a demand for people to work with children in this country, whether it be Foster Care, Nanny, Nursery Nurse or Child Minders. The sky is the limit as to the number of occupations can be had from studying this course or progression to higher levels such as Diploma or Degree. 

What will I learn about? 

This qualification is built on the two core units that form the fundamental knowledge and understanding of Child development through play. This qualification also contains two mandatory units, which explores key early year’s principles, as well as a choice from four optional specialist units. This course will enable the student to gain a better understanding of early year’s sectors, including health and safety, supporting children’s language and literacy development, nutrition for children, as well as roles, responsibilities and career pathways in the sector. 

How will I be assessed? 

In this course there are 2 internally assessed and 1 externally assessed unit. Centre assessment will be externally verified through the national standard sampling process. The purpose of assessment is to ensure that effective learning of the content of each unit has taken place. All work is assessed at either Pass (equivalent to C at GCSE), Merit, Distinction or Distinction*. A Level 1 award is available for students who do not achieve one of the units. 

“ With the current baby boom more careers options are now open within          Child Care”